bottleneck analysis

Fresh insights about energy, politics, travels, sports, music…

New adventures

Tallinn, Estonia

Getting to a country where you have no clue about the local language is tough. Buying food is tough: what exactly am I buying? I just figured out how the announcements on the bus work. I get names and streets confused all the time, I can’t pronounce anything correctly. It has never happened to me before (maybe in Paris… Yes, I’m being sarcastic). It is also absolutely my fault, because the lack of time impeded me to get a grasp of this difficult language.

Now, in the streets of Tallinn, I hear more Russian than many here admit. Right now, a lady is saying да и нет on the phone.

The modern European feeling is mixed with the Soviet-era apartment blocks and the cute and medieval old town.

Clean and tourist-friendly, this small capital city could teach a lot to many West European cities. Its long summer days are about to start and humidity has allowed the flowers to bloom.

My part-time job will be the first of the new adventures. Some activities are still ongoing, like the preparation of a co-authored book chapter, a long paper, and 4 presentations about them.

These are going to be, again, very busy months. And the blog activity will be the first to suffer. Also because the e-magazines with which I am collaborating (The Hidden Transcript and VostokCable) would probably prefer that I devoted my time to writing for them.

2 responses to “New adventures

  1. Lakshmi May 13, 2013 at 11:07 am

    Have a good time in Estonia! What does да и нет mean?

    • bottleneckanalysis May 13, 2013 at 12:31 pm

      да и нет = yes and no 🙂 … you know that!
      I was just pointing out the 2 most frequent words she said. She also uttered many more Russian words, given that she was talking in Russian! 🙂

Leave a Reply

